Home / Provinces



Flag of Zeeland

The Zeeland province of the Netherlands is located in the south-western region of the country. Known as “sea-land,” the province consists of a series of small islands with a strip of land that borders the country of Belgium. The capital ...

Read More »

South Holland

Flag of South Holland

  The province of South Holland sits along the North Sea and is located in the western area of the Netherlands. Its capital city is The Hague, but its largest city is Rotterdam. Not only is the province a popular ...

Read More »


Flag of Overijssel

Overijssel is a mainland province of the Netherlands located in the central-eastern region of the country. Its capital city of Zwolle boasts a rich history, but the town of Enschede takes the crown for being the province’s largest city. Overijssel ...

Read More »

North Holland

Flag of North Holland

The province of North Holland is located in the western portion of the Netherlands. The province includes the country’s most famous city – Amsterdam. The capital city of Haarlem also attracts many tourists each year thanks to its many museums ...

Read More »


Flag of Limburg

The Limburg province is located in the southernmost region of the Netherlands. It shares borders with both Germany and Belgium, while the provinces of Gelderland and North Brabant are located to the north.The province’s name is derived from the castle ...

Read More »


Flag of Gelderland

The Gelderland province of the Netherlands dates back to the Holy Roman Empire. Its name is derived from the nearby German town of Geldern, which is known for its famous dragon legend. Although Gelderland is one of the largest provinces ...

Read More »


Flag of Flevoland

The Flevoland province is the youngest of all the provinces in the Netherlands. Established in 1986, Flevoland is located in the center of the country at the site of the former Zuiderzee bay.This agricultural region is comprised primarily of flat ...

Read More »


Flag of Utrecht

The province of Utrecht may be small in size, but its population is the largest in the country. Named after its capital city, Utrecht is located in the eastern part of the Randstad conurbation. The city of Utrecht is the ...

Read More »

North Brabant

Flag of North Brabant

North Brabant is a province of the Netherlands located in the southern region of the country. To the south of the region sits Belgium’s provinces of Limburg and Antwerp, while the Meuse River is just north of the province. Today, ...

Read More »


Flag of Groningen

  The Groningen province is located in the northeast region of the Netherlands. It borders the Drenthe province to the south, Friesland in the west and Germany in the east. To the north of Groningen is the Wadden Sea. Although ...

Read More »